L.H.P erspective

Just another WordPress.com weblog

A Twitter Expedition

leave a comment »

My brand new twitter page.

Our most recent assignment was to follow a few people on twitter.com and give our initial impressions of this new wave of internet communication/information dissemination. Since I’m all about sports, I decided to follow some athletes, writers, teams, and league accounts.

My first impressions are:

  1. I don’t really get Twitter. To me, it seems as though people are, in essence, going on their front porch with a megaphone and announcing whatever they want to the world.
  2. It’s just a bunch of quick snippets and you have to look into everything if you really want to know what’s going on.

The second point is why I don’t really like twitter. With following the NBA, several ESPN accounts (MLB rumor central, NBA rumor central,and  Soccer news), every tweet is a link to an article. I thought that tweets were supposed to be informative and a fast way to break stories to a large audience–for example, ‘Lackey signs with Boston! Contract negotiations to come.”

As a Boston sports fan, I decided to follow the Celtics, and the Patriots. Their posts are more of what I thought twitter would be like.

With respect to individuals, for now, I’m following Bill Simmons (A.K.A. The Sports Guy), ESPN personality Kenny Mayne, and all around character/wide receiver Chad Ochocinco. Their stuff is a bit more entertaining because it’s just shameless self promotion. They’re not trying to break news, they’re just screaming into the megaphone that is the internet. I guess the difference is that I decided to follow them because I believe that once in a while one of their quotes will be memorable or memorably hilarious.

To me, if you really want to take advantage of Twitter, you need a smart phone and you need to completely throw yourself into it. Personally, I don’t want to go back and consistently check twitter to find out what’s going on all the time. Perhaps I’m just already accustomed to receiving news and information the way it’s currently offered and I don’t need a more immediate medium. Maybe things will change, who knows. But for now, I’m not a fan of twitter.

Written by lhpious

March 17, 2010 at 12:18 pm

Leave a Reply

