L.H.P erspective

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Journalistic Entrepreneurship

leave a comment »

Dan Gregory, a faculty member of the School of Technological Entrepreneurship at Northeastern, as well as the faculty advisor for the venture accelerator IDEA at Northeastern graced our class today. His enthusiastic words highlighted how the perils of disruptive technologies change the scope of a business discipline.

His previous work brought him in contact with many journalists. Gregory posed the question, “What is it that you could lend a company that is growing and emerging?” Together we came up with a short list of qualifications that we as journalism students feel as though we posses: the ability to write well and clearly, a knowledge of how to gather information, the ability wot work on deadline, communicate clearly, understanding of new technologies, and good question asking skills.

Upon reviewing the list, Gregory exclaimed, “writing well, oh my God! That puts you in a select group of about 5% of people.”

Technology is something that as an entrepreneur you cannot be afraid of. He said that it’s the people not the technology that eventually wins the day for start up companies.

For me, my blog, at its current state, is a perception on sports and modern media outlets and consumption. I don’t know if what I’m doing right now has the potential to manifest into a company because it’s not specific enough. Additionally, if I were to focus only on sports, I’d be competing with the personal blogs of newspaper reporters across the country and with established sports media outlets like Sports Illustrated and ESPN.

Personally, I’m not sure I want to start my own company. My work skills are such that starting something completely new, to borrow a line from Austin Powers, “just isn’t my bag, baby.” I enjoy working with an established team and taking an existing and functioning project to the next level.

Written by lhpious

April 14, 2010 at 3:23 pm

Leave a Reply

